Shrewd Mammal

Open Source Social Engines

Posted on: July 22, 2008

I stumbled upon (No, not the web 2.0 way) the Elgg social network engine about a month ago….I was looking for an engine that I could use as a social hub for a niche ministry network and I chanced upon Elgg.

I noticed that Elgg v1.0 was due for release “summer 08” but summer is almost over and I am one of an army of frustrated Elgg wannabe users. We get occasional appetiser blog posts and shouts on Elgg voices but it is getting very frustrating now…a little bit of communication goes a long way.

So I downloaded PHPizabi and AroundMe today….I am playing with these for now but I am sure I am not the only one that is frustrated with the wait. I know that Elgg v1.0 will be well worth the wait but….it’s painful.

There is only so much you can take of Elgg Classic with it’s lack of documentation and the sheer desire to enjoy V1.0.

I love what I have seen of Elgg Classic so I know Elgg V1.0 will be great….just wish the team would not tease so much and perhaps pin a proper date down?

www.elgg.org

Technorati : , , , , , ,

3 Responses to "Open Source Social Engines"

I am sorry that you feel as though we are ‘teasing’ things along. In fact, it is quite the opposite. As v1.0 is a new direction for the code, we need to go through several testing phases, especially on the interface side.

We are working closely with those developers and users who have been with us working on Elgg for the past few years, developers are in the code and users passing opinion on the new interface.

Once we gather their valuable feedback and make the required improvements, we will be able to open up the product to a wider audience.

Dave.

@ Dave

Mate it’s just the impression. I like so many others would rather you guys plug away at the code and leave us guessing but it is just soooo frustrating esp as I was hoping for an invite to the beta but hey, we can’t all be beta testers and I would rather it was tested throughly by seasoned Elgg’ers lol 🙂

It is just my frustration at itching to start a new project and not being able to because we are waiting for the code release. I think it would be great if at least you had defined “Summer” as say “before September 08” 😉 (I see from the Elgg News Blog that you now anticipate a 3 week delivery – hot!!)

Seriously though, keep up the good work. Re-reading my post this morning I apologise of it came across as crabby and I appreciate you taking the time to comment and of course, all the work you guys are doing.

Rest assured I am an Elgg fan and eagerly await the new release.

KUTGW

Thanks for this beautiful Posting On social networking!
It was very nice to see this great article talking about Community!

Leave a Reply

Who are you?

Don't forget to hit the "you" page and leave a note for me :)

what are people reading?

Bits & bobs

twitter

British Blogs

Blog Stats

  • 2,005 hits
